15 Comments

Who Am I and Why Should It Matter To You?

I find it difficult to talk about myself for a number of reasons:
  1. I learned very early on in my life that the vast majority of humanity were not interested in me; they were only interested in themselves. And I learned very quickly that if I tried to get them interested in me, I would be wasting my time. So I talked about them. An unintentional benefit of this was that I got to learn all sorts of really interesting stuff
  2. Because things don’t happen in chronological order. Yes, its true that time comes at us at the rate of 1 second per second. However, events and understanding do not happen in the order we experience them or perhaps that should be that events and understanding are not experienced in the order that they actually happen. For example, I went to school and learned some stuff but it was only much later that I saw the relevance of it
REASONS WHY IT SHOULD NOT MATTER TO YOU
  1. I am just one of 7 billion people (and counting). My story is no more important than any of theirs – or yours
  2. As we will probably never meet, I am less important to you than people you will bump into as you walk down the street
  3. Because you are the most important person in your life – and so you should be
THE ONE REASON WHY IT SHOULD MATTER TO YOU
Because my story and my experiences may just be able to help you and it is vitally important to you that I am not a criminal, a conman or a complete idiot.
THEMES IN MY LIFE
There are four main themes to my life. When added together, they can make my behaviour and my logic seem, well, illogical. They are:
  1. THE MAZE: If you were unable to see a maze and just saw the behaviour of someone trying to solve it, their actions would look bizarre and contradictory. First they go one way and then another; then they go forward, now back. It makes no sense. However, if you see the maze, you immediately make sense of the behaviour: a person hits a dead end and then has to go back. The problem with the maze that I follow is that it is not physical. I am trying to solve a problem for which there are many “solutions”. So I try one. If it doesn’t work, I move on. And worse, sometimes the solution works but only for a short time or in the correct situation so it has to be abandoned. Ironically, when people play computer games, they are quite happy to do the same thing
  2. THE BEST FORM OF PATIENCE IS TO DO SOMETHING ELSE WHILE YOU ARE WAITING. A project is going along swimmingly and then it hits a brick wall – a brick wall that cannot be pushed through, jumped over or got around. So you’re stuck. What’s the obvious thing to do? Well, you have two options: you can sit and wait for the wall to be eroded away by time; or you get on with something else. As my life is limited (and short), I choose to do something else until I can find a way around the wall. Unfortunately others see that as quitting because that is what they do
  3. THINGS CHANGE AND WE HAVE TO ADAPT. This an axiom of every major religion and belief system and yet people still refuse to live by it. They think that tomorrow will be just like yesterday. This is why there is so much debate over Climate Change: because people don’t want change; because people fear change. My own feelling is that change is happening faster in the Twenty-First Century. I am having to adapt on a daily basis
  4. I TRY TO TRUST MY SUBCONSCIOUS. My research has shown me that the Subconscious sees everything, hears everything and remembers everything. Unfortunately, it speaks in code. In that way, it is worse than Yoda. Haiku poetry and Zen sayings about the sound of one hand clapping – hah! They’re amateurs compared to the Subconscious. The Times crossword puzzle – yawn! Try deciphering what your Subconscious is telling you.Thankfully, most of the time it uses physical sensations: gut feelings, something make your skin crawl or just feeling uneasy about something. Now, by defintion, the Subconscious is illogical, at least as far as Conscious Logic. I suppose a more accurate description is that the Conscious and Subconscious use completely different forms of logic
If I were to sum them up, it would be that I choose to take action whilst the majority choose to wait. “All things come to those that wait”. Who said that? They are a world-class murderer. How many people have gone to their grave waiting to lead happy lives with great relationships and the wealth to enjoy it all? How many of the people who got those things tell others “All you need to do is wait and they will find you?”
15 comments on “Who Am I and Why Should It Matter To You?

  1. Hi Mr Phil Maguire from M-Powered,

    This post is nicely explicated. Well done!

    SoundEagle hopes that whilst you are running into a brick wall in trying to figure out how to get the second menu working, you have been doing something else as you wait for a solution to appear.

    • There is always something else on the ToDo list that can be done so the answer is yes

      • Hello Mr Phil Maguire! How have you been? Do you still blog? You have been missed. Looking forward to hearing from you!

      • Thank you for taking an interest in my activities, SoundEagle

        I’m no longer blogging but I am still writing.

        I got a really negative reaction from most people when I mentioned that my blog was about everyday cybernetics and how this is transforming our lives for the better.
        People would say “I’m not a cyborg!” And when I would point specific examples of how they couldn’t live their present lifestyle without their current level of technology, somehow I would be the bad guy.
        I’m sorry, but if you can’t live without your smartphone or your wi-fi, you’re a cyborg.
        So I stopped writing and talking about it.

        I also came to terms with my invisibility. I had always lived with having trouble getting served or even people listening to me. I cannot tell you the number of times, I’ve volunteered to help people and they were going to phone me back – but never did. And getting people to do things was a real pain in the asp. I would tell them what I wanted and they would just do what they thought was best and then act surprised when I was angry. I thought that it was beatable. After all, I had run a consultancy. But looking back, it had been hard work. I had had to fight to get every one of my ideas across. People would always question my judgement and results – even when I could show that I was right. I had thought that with a little bit extra work I could become influential.
        Then one day, I asked myself if there was even the slightest chance of me ever succeeding in becoming influential. I had to admit that the chances were so small as to make all of the work pointless.
        So I stopped blogging.
        But I did realise that there was a better and easier way of getting things changed. Instead of trying to persuade people to do things, what I needed to do was find people who wanted to do them regardless of me and help them achieve those things. The best way to help them was the way I had always excelled in – raising the money.
        So I focused on that.

        However, I didn’t stop writing.
        I joined Quora in order to learn from better minds than mine. When I joined, you had to pay to ask other people questions using Quora credits and the only way to get them was to earn them by answering questions yourself . So I started answering questions just to earn credits.
        But something happened. I started answering questions that weren’t the kind I would’ve asked myself. And they sent me down paths that I wouldn’t have considered. They forced me to round out my ideas and think more deeply about them.
        The three question areas I discuss are:
        filmmaking,
        transhumanism with reference to AI instead of cybernetics; and
        superconsciousness and peak performance instead of living without limits.
        So it is all the same stuff I used to talk about just under more socially acceptable labels. Also when I talk about myself, it’s only as a case history. Also, I don’t go into any detail on how it’s going to happen as no one seems interested in that
        I did toy with the idea of writing a blog with curated content from my answers but then that would only draw attention to me and that wouldn’t work.

        My Quora profile is
        https://www.quora.com/profile/Phil-Maguire-1
        if you’re interested.

      • SoundEagle is very delighted to hear from you and to know that you are still actively engaging in writing (or blogging for that matter). What a dismay or pity it has been that some of your intended readers and/or cohorts consistently fail to comprehend or appreciate you and your contributions in spite of your effort, diligence and cogency!

        It is indeed unfortunate that those reactions and responses that you have experienced and described in detail are far too common and entrenched, as most people are invariably prisoners of their worldviews, captives of their thinking styles, and slaves of their habits, as highlighted by some of the quotes as well as the comments contained in the page at https://soundeagle.wordpress.com/quotes/. You can witness how some of the readers behaved or thought as they left their comments there.

      • Well, in one respect, I have no one to blame but myself. I thought the technophobia described in “Zen And The Art Of Motorcycle Maintenance” by Robert Pirsig had passed. After all, it was written 43 years ago and a lot has changed since then. I’d thought that any society that was so obsessed by having the latest smartphone and latest tablet would’ve overcome its distrust of technology.
        But nothing’s changed at all.
        Technology is still seen as unnatural – as some aggressive alien force that wants to destroy our planet.
        I see it a little differently.
        I see that it is our nature to create. We shape and manipulate our environment in search of beauty. To help us shape our environment, we create tools – technology. We cannot paint a picture without brushes or paints and we cannot get those without technology.
        The problem is that technology in general and computers in particular have taken the blame for our shortcomings. Our factories vomit toxic gases and pollution into our environment and we’re told that that is just the cost of progress. Wrong. We didn’t have to create technological processes that poison us. We chose to because we’re lazy and greedy. Henry Ford had the chance to develop the electric car for Edison. However, he chose to develop the petrol engine because he could make more money. He put his own pocket above the welfare of the planet and we have all paid the price. And he is held up as a great businessman because of it, not in spite of it.
        It is our own madness that is the monster not technology. At best, technology is just a mirror that shows us our true nature.
        So, I shouldn’t have been surprised.

      • It is also unfortunate that some folks possess quite limited understanding and circumscribed views on cybernatics and its ramifications. With respect to “transhumanism with reference to AI instead of cybernetics; and superconsciousness and peak performance instead of living without limits”, SoundEagle mentioned Transhuman, Posthuman, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering, Neural Networks, Neuroscience, Memory Transplant, Augmentation and Reprogramming in the special post published at https://soundeagle.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/facing-the-noise-music-playgrounds-for-biophobic-citizens/

        It would be highly appreciated if you could kindly read and give SoundEagle your feedback at the comment section of that post.

      • Hi Phil,

        Thank you for sharing your Quora profile. SoundEagle has taken quite a liking to your contributions at Quora, and would like to promote them through publishing one or more posts at https://soundeagle.wordpress.com

        Should you be interested, you could choose from your best or favourite answers to form curated content from those answers as the basis of the post(s). When you are ready or in the mood to begin the process, it will be quite a simple matter of writing the post(s) in Microsoft Word (or something equivalent) and to include any quantity of relevant photos (if necessary) in the Microsoft Word document(s), which you can then email to SoundEagle, who will then perform detailed editing and formatting so that the post(s) will become interactive document(s) ready for publication.

        There is no restriction in the length of the post(s) and the number of photos to include.

        Quora-based content aside, you are also welcome to write about anything you like and send them to SoundEagle via email.

      • That’s a very generous offer, SoundEagle. Now that I’ve returned from holiday I will be able to do something about this

      • SoundEagle looks forward to collaborating with you. Happy mid-August to you, Phil!

      • Hello Phil,

        Should you be wondering who has/had collaborated and published with SoundEagle, then one of the examples can be seen at https://soundeagle.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/do-plants-and-insects-coevolve/, which is in the process of being extended even more. The feedback and interactions at the comment section of the post are also very interesting and fruitful.

        You can also see another version of the post at https://queenslandorchid.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/do-plants-and-insects-coevolve/

  2. And so I tracked you down – aha! They do say that clarity comes from action not contemplation so choosing to take action rather than waiting seems wise, even if it appears like manic craziness to others.

  3. […] Who Am I and Why Should It Matter To You? (mpowered79.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Hi Phil, how have you been?

    Referring to your earlier comment “That’s a very generous offer, SoundEagle. Now that I’ve returned from holiday I will be able to do something about this”, I am curious and keen to discover what you have installed or conjured up for us to proceed further.

    Happy autumn to you!

Leave a Reply

